Plan for ChangeMC999442

Microsoft Purview | Data Lifecycle Management: Retention based on “last accessed” for OneDrive and SharePoint files

Workload: Purview ·Services: Microsoft Purview· Published: 2025-02-07· MS modified: 2026-10-13
Updated messageNew featureAdmin impact

AI summary

Access-time based data retention policy added

Retentionspolitik nach zuletztem Zugriff implementiert

Rollout dates

Extracted from the announcement text; the Microsoft text is authoritative.

Impact

Admin: MediumUser: Low

ChangeCockpit assessment (admin, user and compliance impact).

Microsoft announcement

Updated October 13, 2026: We have updated the timeline. Thank you for your patience.

Enable admins to apply retention policy or retention label in OneDrive and SharePoint for files that have not been accessed by anyone in the organization after a period of time. In this release, users will be able to set up delete policies based on Last Accessed Date of Office file types. Non-office file types are not supported in this release.

This message is associated with Microsoft 365 Roadmap ID 472030.

[When this will happen:]

Preview: We will begin rolling out mid-January 2027 (previously late November 2026) and expect to complete by late February 2027 (previously end of December 2026)

General Availability (Worldwide): We will begin rolling out late February 2027 (previously early January) and expect to complete by late March 2027 (previously early February)

[How this will affect your organization:]

This feature will help delete obsolete data, which will improve the quality and relevance of Microsoft 365 Copilot responses.

This feature will be available by default.

After the rollout, admins can use the retention control When items were last accessed when configuring labels and policies.

Retention settings page in Purview with the new “last accessed” option for retention policies:

admin controls

[What you need to do to prepare:]

This rollout will happen automatically by the specified date with no admin action required before the rollout. Review your current configuration to determine the impact for your organization. You may want to notify your users about this change and update any relevant documentation.

Before rollout, we will update this post with new documentation.

Change history

Related changes · Purview